Top menu

What are the Anniversary Gemstones?

The wedding anniversary gem stones are given to celebrate special wedding anniversaries.

The modern list of wedding anniversary gem stones is:
10th Diamond
12th Pearls and colored gems
30th Diamond
33rd Amethyst
34th Opal
35th Jade
38th Neryl or Tourmaline
40th Ruby
45th Sapphire
55th Emerald
60th Diamond

The traditional list of wedding anniversary gemstones is:
30th Pearl
35th Coral or Jade
40th Ruby
45th Sapphire
55th Emerald
60th Diamond
75th Diamond (again)

Emily Post designed the traditional wedding anniversary gemstone list in 1927 and revised in 1957.

The modern anniversary gemstone list was developed recently by the jewellers association.

How the gemstones are given is up to the couple – as a stone alone is unusal as most people give the gemstones set in a jewelry design – gemstone earrings, necklaces and pendants, bracelets, rings; even as different combination sets. Whatever suits the individual style of the recipient is what matters most.

You can also give variations in the colors of the gemstones such as white diamonds and the rare pink diamonds. Sapphires are usually blue but there are stunning pink sapphires for something different.

All the best and happy anniversary!


See our Jewelry Sale for Gemstone in Silver designs!

Technorati Tags:, , , , , , , , , :, , , , ,


Comments are closed.

Site design and development by Crimson Pear